WWDC ’14 I Love Android, So Why Do I Care?

140403_wwdc_2014

So as some of you may know, today is one of the biggest and most influential days in all of tech.  Today is Apples Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC). A day that the majority of iPhone users could care less about. I say this because I’ve seen way too many old ladies with iPhones. But seriously, today is the day Apple unveils its upcoming plans for iOS and OS X. Now if you read my last post you would see that I’ve never owned an iPhone. Since using android, I’ve become what you call an “Android fanboy”. I’m not ashamed of it either. I’ve been blasting family, friends, and heck even strangers for their foolish decision to buy an i*hone (yes I was one of those guys that censored it like a trashy episode of Jerry Springer).

However, lately I’ve been intrigued by Apple, particularly iOS 7. I know it steals a ton of ideas from Android, but I think that’s a good thing. It’s gigantic leap from the boring iOS designs of the past truly sparked my attention. What’s really tempted me into checking out iOS is Apples attention to detail in its design. Like always, Apple knocks it out of the park with design for iOS 7. Compared to Android, which feels more like it was engineered than designed. Don’t get me wrong Android has come a long way since the days of Eclair and Froyo. Sadly, fragmentation has crippled android. There are so many devices from a bazillion different OEMs. Even if Google does design a decently good looking OS, like it has with Kit Kat, it usually gets smothered by some company’s disgusting skin, i.e. Samsung’s Touchwiz.

I Love Android So Why Do I Care?

Android has been great to me over the years, and the idea of jumping ship for Apple has been never seemed like a real possibility, until now. Over the past few weeks I have seen the iPhone 6 dummy model leaked over the internet. Once, I saw the big 4.7 and 5.5 inch screen offerings I immediately saw that Apple is looking to compete with other big Android phones out there. Now one of the biggest reservations I had about using iOS was that tiny screen. Seriously, size does matter when it comes to a phones screen. I shouldn’t need a magnifying glass to browse the web.

Coupled with Apple’s decision to increase the screen size for the iPhone 6 is iOS 8. With only a few hours before we know all there is to know about it, I can guess that Apple has added some features that will make iOS even more competitive with Android.

So does this mean I’ll be getting an iPhone in September? We’ll see, but let’s stay tuned as we see Apple unveil, in my opinion, what could be one of the most significant leaps forward for iOS.

 

 

Leave a comment